his award honors a resident physician who has made an extraordinary, lasting contribution to the success of NMPRA and/or Med-Peds on a national or regional level. It is named for Gary Onady, MD, PhD, for his notable, extraordinary, lasting contributions to Med-Peds.

Dr. Onady completed a Bachelors of Science in Chemistry from the University of Cincinnati and completed his Ph.D. training in chemistry from the City University of New York in Bioinorganic/Physical Chemistry in 1982. That same year he began Pharmacology fellowship training at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine in Pharmocodynamics, Cytochrome P450, and antimalarial drug design. Dr. Onady continued with his clinical training, receiving an MD in 1987 at Wright State University School of Medicine and residency training in Internal Medicine – Pediatrics at MetroHealth Medical Center/Case Western Reserve in 1991.

Dr. Onady assumed the role as Program Director for the Med-Peds Residency Program upon arriving at Wright State University in 1991. During this time, Dr. Onady became active at the local and national level toward advancing the appreciation of the Internal Medicine – Pediatrics specialist. He has published numerous articles and editorials on Internal Medicine – Pediatrics, and has served as President of the Internal Medicine – Pediatrics Program Directors Association (MPPDA), as their representative on the Primary Care Organizations Consortium and most recently as advisor to the National Med-Peds Residents’ Association (NMPRA).

Additional areas of interest include secondary health care for Adult Cystic Fibrosis patients, for which Dr. Onady serves as the Adult Director for the Dayton CF Program, and conducts research regarding medical complications of Cystic Fibrosis. He has provided workshops, presentations, and is published on integrating Evidenced-based Medicine into clinical decision making, and actively integrates these concepts into both the undergraduate and graduate medical education at Wright State University School of Medicine.

The winner of the Gary Onady Award receives $250 to be used for educational purposes, as well as a $250 travel grant to attend the National Med-Peds Meeting.

Submission Details

You may either nominate yourself, or request that the program director of your nominee, submit an application. Please submit the application as a single PDF which includes all the information below:

  • Nominee’s Full Name, Program, PGY Level
  • Contact Information: Phone number, Email address, Program Director’s Name and Email Address
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Brief description of how you/nominee has contributed to the success of Med-Peds at the national or regional level
  • Nominee must be a NMPRA member at the time of their application
  • Nominee must disclose all other financial sponsorships and donations received as well
  • Nominee must be able to attend the NMPRA National Meeting on the year of application

Please email application to president-elect@medpeds.org


    • 2018: Dr. Joshua Price, UMMS-Baystate
    • 2017: Dr. Robin Felker, University of Massachusetts
    • 2016: Dr. Brandon Allport, University of Miami
    • 2015: Dr. Eric Chow, Brown University
    • 2014: Dr. Himani Divatia, Christiana Care Health System
    • 2013: Dr. Brandon Abbott, SUNY Buffalo
    • 2012: Dr. Thomas Heyne, Massachusetts General Hospital
    • 2011: Dr. Jen McEntee, University of North Carolina
    • 2010: Dr. Jessica Wilson, Medical College of Wisconsin
    • 2009: Dr. Arlene Chung, East Carolina University
    • 2008: Dr. Kenneth Remy, Case Medical Center
    • 2007: Dr. Ranya Sweiss, University of Michigan
    • 2005: Dr. Emery Chang, Tulane University
    • 2004: Dr. David Kendrick, Tulane University
    • 2003: Dr. David Kaelber, Brown University
    • 2001: Dr. Brian Zimmerman, Wright State University
    • 2000: Dr. Heath Parker, Texas A&M University